Robert Bosch Stiftung Academy Fellowship (Central/Eastern Europe and Africa) [Chatham House]

Applications Due: 29.4 2019. The fellowship is aimed at candidates at the mid-stage of their career and who come from academia, NGOs, business, government departments, civil society or the media. They should possess knowledge of, and an interest in, the policy challenges related to global governance. Open to applicants from Sub-Saharan Africa nations, or citizens with dual-nationality from one of these countries. Candidates must have completed BA degree or equivalent (masters degree with an international focus is preferred).

Fellowship is for a 10-month term from mid-September 2019 to late-July 2020. Fellows will be hosted by the Europe Programme at Chatham House. The fellow will be based full-time at Chatham House, London for the initial months and final months of the fellowship. For an intervening period of three months the fellow will be based full-time at the Institute of International Relations Prague.

Each fellow will conduct a research project of their own design which falls within the theme of Transition experiences and developments in relations between Central and Eastern Europe and sub-Saharan Africa. Proposals should take into account the broader context of the project, which places particular reference on bilateral relations and cooperation, democratic transitions, institutional capacity-building, and public policy reform.

Each fellow will receive a monthly stipend of approximately £2,295. Modest provision is made for the costs of relocation, fieldwork, and possible publication costs.

Open to citizens of countries in Sub-Saharan Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, DRC, Republic of Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Applications will also be accepted from applicants holding dual nationality which includes one of these countries.